We Still Love John

September 26, 2009

Solution for John *updated*

Filed under: #3: discovery and reporting — qi @ 5:26 am

John’s Belief: Thoughts -> Emotions -> Behaviour -> Belief (Vicious Cycle)

(Argh…Diagram failed to load..its in ur emails (=)

Suggested Therapy for John: Cognitive Approach

To help him cope by changing his reaction (behavior) towards external stimuli, through correcting of his faulty cognitive thoughts towards external stimuli.

Consist of 2 parts.

1) Counselling (focused on changing his defective cognitive thought patterns)

2) Derive a Coping plan for John to practice in his daily lives.


Diagnosis of John from the Case:

Identify John’s internal mental processes towards stimuli (his environment) which led him to behave in an extreme manner.

Stimuli Response (Behaviour) Automatic thoughts and beliefs (Internal Process)
His divorced parents are engaged in a heated quarrel in the living room. (sound of quarreling and head banging)

[Act 1- Scene 2]

In his bedroom, John bangs his bead against the wall repeatedly. No one loves me. There is no one I can talk to.
Failing Chinese Spelling since Primary Two

[Act 1: Scene 1]

He gives up even before he tries. I am Stupid. My Brain has been damaged. It is impossible for me to pass Chinese. I am a Failure.

They don’t want to work with me. They say that I always give the wrong answer. They say I am stupid. Who cares, anyway?

[Act 1- Scene 3]

Unmotivated and disengaged from the group work

Drifts in class and appears to be preoccupied with his thoughts. He seems to be daydreaming all the time.

I am very bad at percentage. I am Stupid. No one wants to work with me. No one loves me.

Teacher complained to his Parents.

Caned by his mother’s Boyfriend

Recalls his P1 and P2 days when he topped his class and parents beamed with pride at his achievements

[Act 1 – Scene 4]

When all is asleep, he is in front of the computer screen, gaming his stress away… Escape from Reality by playing the computer. No one loves me. There is no one I can talk to. Nobody can help me. I am Confused.

John is rejected by Meng Chong who doesn’t want to be in his team.

[Act 1 Scene 6]

He is angry and distraught by the rejection. He reacts with Aggression.

John Reacts: Big deal! Go Then! (Shoves Meng Chong hard) and they engage in a short scuffle.

You are such a bully to everyone-my dad says you are just like your dad when he was in school!

At least my dad isn’t a sissy!

Everyone bullies me. Others are mean to me, so I should be mean to them too.

John’s Core Belief:

I am Stupid. My Brain has been damaged. It is impossible for me to pass Chinese. I am bad at percentage. I am a Failure. There is no one I can talk to. Nobody can help me. I am Confused. Everyone bullies me. Others are mean to me, so I should be mean to them too. I am Stupid. No one wants to work with me. No one loves me.


Our Solution: Resilence through Cognitive psychology

Step 1: Teacher talks to John by counselling to change his defective Cognitive Patterns to improve on his resilence

– Positive Automatic Thoughts:

– Positive Emotions: Depression

– Positive response to Situational Factors

– Positive Core Belief

– Positive Behaviour

Step 2: A Plan for John to Follow:

1) Assertive Training – Role Play Pg 342 (Aileen’s Texkbook)

2) Activity Scheduling – Restrict his computer behaviour so as to let him regain control of his life.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

